Board Members

Naren Garg – Chair

Naren is a Planner, Entrepreneur and Community Organizer with degrees in Art History and Urban Planning. He began his career working with arts and culture nonprofits on capacity building, governance and strategy development and led research on the economic impacts of investments in the cultural sector. Naren has spent the past decade growing his entrepreneurial pursuits and currently is the CEO of Simplevolution Ltd. while contributing to various civic society organizations including most recently serving as a Director for TedXCalgary. He is passionate about Indian Classical Art forms and is eager to contribute to the continued excellence of Sampradaya Dance Creations.

Dr. Lalitha Shankar – Secretary

Dr. Shankar is a practicing radiologist in Toronto. She is an entrepreneur and initiated the very first successful Teleradiology service-Canrad which provides services to hospitals and clinics in the province of Ontario. She is chief of Diagnostic Imaging at the Temiskaming Hospital. As an Associate professor in the University of Toronto she has written several text books and peer reviewed articles. Her dedication to medicine has earned her several medals and awards. She has received the professional woman of the year award from ICCC. She has struck a fine balance between being a physician, a mother and pursuing art. She devotes a part of her week to painting or writing articles. A year ago she wrote a memoir about her father-‘Relentless Brush Strokes’. The book was well received and the proceeds from the sales were donated to Handicare International. Her upbringing was amongst musicians such as M.S. Subbulakshmi and Radha Viswanathan her aunt. She revered her grand father, a movie director and producer in India. The influence from visual art and talented singers in her family fascinated and honed her passion in culture and art despite being a hard core scientific based professional.

Harish Athale – Treasurer

Harish is a senior finance professional and holds designations from India, UK, USA and Canada. His career encompasses work experience in India, Africa and North America, where he has held leadership roles with multinational corporations. Currently, he is the Financial Controller of Airfield Lighting business unit of Thomas and Betts Limited, a member of Swiss multi-national Asea Brown Boveri (ABB) group. Harish is actively involved with various Canadian charities including India Rainbow Community Services of Peel, The Malhar Group Music Circle of Ontario, Maharashtra Seva Samiti Organization (MSSO), Toronto Chapter and is now pleased to serve on the Board of Sampradaya Dance Creations. He is an ardent Indian classical music lover and has organized many classical and semi-classical music programs including Canadian debut concerts for a number of artists zoloft, appreciated by discerning audience. In addition he has acted in various plays and provided logistic support to local stage productions. Since 2001, Harish has made Canada is home and has enjoyed living in Oakville along with his wife Uma, a pediatric hemato-oncologist at McMaster Children’s Hospital, Hamilton and their daughter, Abha, a medical student at Midwestern University in Glendale, Arizona.

Past Presidents:

Ravi Kumar, 2010-2012

Margaret Manson, 2000-2010